E-MAIL

NEWEST

OLDER ENTRIES

D I A R Y L A N D

June 14, 2004

New kind of Weekends

Now that I am married and have become a member of the family Trio, we have stopped going out to COOL bars and cafes. We now make our own Margaritas and Mohitos and find entertainment in a 'different' level. I try my best to wear cool clothes & managed to wear my Prada platforms -purchased in Italy, thank you- out to the mall. Otherwise getting into casual clothes & trying to make Hello Kitty look hip. (My baby loves the hello kitty hair pin, it keeps hair off face & provides entertainment.. OH WELL.)

So here's one weekend.

Friday : spontaneously purchased a couch & an ottoman from Jay Leno look-alike, 'the Chinman' at Cabot house.*We really don't like the Chinman and prefer Al, but the Chinman aggressively pushes his way towards us whenever we show up at the shop. He�s not even nice. Infact, I�d call him pretty nasty.

Alcohol Intake; 2 Jumbo sized Fosters & 2 regular sized Beers

Saturday : spontaneously started a project in the living room by hammering at the ugliest wall sconces (we wanted to beat them with baseball bats originally) & yanked the headboard attachment above the fire mantel with a NICE pry bar. The sound that it made was more than satisfying. I prepped then sanded the walls, played with color charts & inner Feng Shui (heh heh) & painted the living room. Chris yanked at more 60�s wooden trimmings & pasted chalky wallboard joint compound feeling like a momentary Firenze artist chiseling at marble.

Alcohol Intake; 2 Beers & 4 Jumbo sized Margaritas

Sunday : A trio of movers who were stoned to bejesus delivered our new couch. They stank of weed. We moved the other couch to the basement family room. Holy cow, the basement family rooms looks so typical! I remember visiting �older� people's houses in college, seeing their kids run around in toy scattered living rooms thinking �YIKES� but now we ourselves have one�. The livingroom looks like a Ralph Lauren show room. I am getting ready to sew up some slip covers to protect the white couch from soil & baby fingers with sticky stuff. *Caught one mouse in a trap under the sink, the other three traps were clear with one trap missing its peanut butter. It must have been a very talented little peanut butter loving mouse that got loose. We both felt bad for the dead mouse.

Beer Intake; 4

Monday : Caught another mouse, this poor mouse apparently had peanut butter on his two front feet. Even though I refuse to see dead mice, I feel horrible for the poor little mouse, especially when Chris gets all sad with the peanut buttered feet description. I wish there was a way to let them loose without killing them.

I don't know how to compare a Single weekend to a Family weekend. I just know nothing beats the family Trio wandering down the street to get Sweet Cream at J.P. Licks.... That and a beautiful livingroom.

June 09, 2004

Sister & Wedding

My 'little' sister's getting married on June 26th. I have been so wrapped up in thinking about her wedding that I literally just remembered my 2 year anniversary is on the 21st.

I feel a whole lot of sentiments about my sister's wedding, a lot more than my own. Perhaps that�s because I actually feel sane this time & not fish eyed trying to organize all sorts of wedding preparations. I remember her as a small girl & doing little girlish things. I remember the most those milestone ages. Even thought I did mock her and probably made her feel insecure for no reason, I adored her little self and her little hair and her perfect little ways. For some reason 4 years seemed very far apart. I always thought my sister wouldn't understand what I was thinking or going through. I always thought of her as a baby.

Had we been 2 years apart I am sure our dynamic would have been different. For one thing, there was one of us going to junior high & the other to high school only to graduate and begin College as the wee one began High school. I never actually realized the way it really was for the two of us, I know I�ve felt guilt that as I began College my sister had to follow me & move to the States as well. I feel like I�ve robbed her of her English experience that would have been so much more natural for her. Without doubt... From what I remember, she was incredibly happy at her boarding school surrounded by nature.

Then there are other things... Sometimes it comes around to haunt me, as if I know I hadn't been the best sister that I could have been. I was idiotically na�ve and shy, with my own everyday problems in a British boarding school trying to learn & going through awkward puberty years alone. All this while my little baby sister probably needed some kind of nurturing source more than she received or realized. We now think 'Everything is ok & whatever happens happens.' But WHY? Not EVERYTHING IS ok, we don't need to be so accomodating sometimes. It's a hard thing to be reciprocating ALL the time. Yet that's exactly what our experiences as kids made us become. I suppose since neither of us knew what we were missing it didn't seem so abnormal. I wish we had known, I would have liked to understand her needs & function as a friend and not just a guardian. I regret that so much. I had no understanding of myself OR my sister during those years, I swam in a pool without knowing how to. When my sister would ask me a question, I probably brushed everything off. Now as a mom myself, I feel so sad that she had to endure some of those things.

I love the memories of my little sister. She was such a little lady.

So now, she is getting married. Everyone probably says this about their sister, at least I tell the truth. (tee hee hee) My sister will be the most beautiful bride.

Why so sappy? It just makes me think that's all. Besides, today I helped her pick out the color of her Wedding Cake. It�s different & absolutely fantastic. At the end of the evening, this will be sweetness you won�t forget.

*Note to self; make sure the top of the cake doesn�t go home with mom, dad & the relatives without them knowing not to touch it. Mine was destroyed by my Korean uncles chomping and gnawing on the thing � probably with their bare hands - it was flattened and destroyed when I opened the lopsided box the next morning.

June 05, 2004

Follow up



So my husband tells me I can get a new couch for the livingroom & when I complained that he more often doesn't like what I like he said:

"I trust you sweetpea, I don't even have to know what you're getting, infact, I won't look until it arrives here."

I was completely taken back with this rare comment especially because he didn't even make a face. However, I am not sure he will be too happy having blurted that later on.

Fabric Ideas



June 4, 2004

Bedding

I'm trying to pick out new bed sheets for our huge four poster bed. Since Chris' taste is 'anything mahogany & enormous', I am trying my darnest to sneak in a few feminine touches. Sheets absolutely must be soft AND pretty in my opinion but so far, nothing has come close to the sheets from the Bryant Park Hotel in NYC. I have never slept better than on their Primaloft pillows & comforter covered with 800 thread count bedding. It's no wonder the NY fashion week puts up their super duper models there.

*I stayed there in 2002 while taping MTV Unplugged with Jay-Z & the Roots but that's a fun story for later! yeah~~

Anyway, staying at the Bryant Park was one of the highlights of the whole experience. I've been looking at House Inc., Shabby Chic, Elizabeth Allen Atelier and other very 'flowery' patterns. This is not an easy task, especially after you realize the consumer pays for exactly that, the flowery patterns with a fancy name for a mere 250 count cotton renamed 'Poplin'. See how much nicer it actually does sound? �Shabby Chic Poplin� That�s some marketing strategy. So if anyone's out there shopping for your Bella Notte Bedding and the likes and have found a great deal, please do share it with moi. I unfortunately still must find my flowery bedding somehow�

June 3, 2004

Memorial day weekend

On Memorial Day weekend, Missy and I went to the mall with our babies while Bob & Chris visited the Home Depot in Bob's red mobile. Missy & Bob are our next door neighbors with their own little baby Jerry. They have a strong Boston accent so when they told us "We'll be naming our baby Jerald Robert after Bob, which is Robert Jerald" it sounded like �Geeraad Raabaat and Raabaat Geeraad�. It was hysterical someone would simply switch the order of the daddy�s name & make it into the baby�s name.

Then again everything Bob says cracks me up. Once we were grilling swordfish on our backyard as Bob was grilling something on his as well.

Me: �What are you making?�

Bob: �Chicken KeBOB�

Chris and I still laugh about the intonation in which Bob pronounced Kebob, �bob� part sounded probably an octave lower then �Ke�. We just laughed since it sounded like his name.

Anyway, Missy & I wandered around the mall. We were like hungry hawks eyeballing in every store as if we had never seen a shopping mall. For some reason I get suckered into buying things when I am with someone else, perhaps I feel less guilty when someone else is spending money with me.(ha-ha) So when we were faced with the-dreaded-sparkly-hair-accessory-stand, I could not resist my usual snotty comment.

"This place is ALWAYS full of people (morons) trying things on!"

It's one of those stands in the middle of the mall. You know the small carts with the most useless things in which people like us become momentary retards & actually buy those ridiculous stuff. Only this one was full of sparkling hair pins, bobby pins, hair bands, hair clips and wigs in short, long, straight, ponytail and blonde plus whatever else you can come up with.. they had it. I thought it was so typical that Korean girls should be the owners.

Me: �Hey Missy, isn�t that hair accessory stand just ridiculous? It�s always overflowing with women trying on fake hair�

Missy: �I know it, it�s wicked. Actually I�ve always wanted to try something from there.�

Me: �Oh you did? (already losing control over my willpower to overlook the damned place)Why don�t you try something on? It'll be fun.�

Oh it was all over, we were good as dead. Before we knew it, there were 4 Korean girls grabbing at our hair with all kinds of gadgets. Then I suddenly saw myself transformed into an Anime-like long haired Korean hair girl just like the sales girls at the accessory stand wearing some belly baring outfits with platform heels.

Me: �Oh my god, look at me, this is cool, I look like I could work here.�(BIG MISTAKE�. Although I sort of liked the long hair piece they put on me�)

Sales girls in chorus: �WHY DON�T YOU WORK HERE??!!??�

Godamba, don't they see that I'm pushing a baby carriage?By this point Missy was standing around blinking a lot as if she was watching a Chinese circus with a bunch of flexible Carnies. They grabbed at Missy�s hair & soon she was sold, she spent $36+tax on a stupid hair clip. Probably knowing that you will never be able to recreate the hair style the �attack of the 4 Korean sales girls� made look so easy. Seeing Missy buy a hairclip and suddenly I no longer could stick to my original plan of �Try it on and get the hell outta dodge�. I had to buy a stupid hair clip myself and spend $37+tax.

Once you lose your cool with your �mall plans�, it all goes down the tube from there. It was as though we were wearing some sort of pink eye glasses. We followed our color charts to a very pink & a very brand new remodeled Victoria�s Frigging Secret and were ruined with additional items. We then bought some baby clothes at Baby Gap & other useless baby gadgets at �The Right Start�.

I do admit I miss my designer boutique shopping days but this was a fun trip. Bob and Chris had come home with a new door & a bunch of useless tools from Home Depot.It's just as well that we had decided to go out to a dinner topping that off with HUGE ice cream cones from Carlisle.

By the end of the night our babies were ZZZing in the car, it's just not fair to be babies sometimes.

I think I will stick to online shopping for a while. UH OH.....

May 28, 2004

Video Game

Talking to Chris;

"Hey sweetie, quit playing that shooting PC game & write an entry why don't you?"

C; "Write an entry?"

"Yes, on this diaryland site, I want to play around with HTML (making it sound very exciting) and show you all the cool stuff it can do."

C; "You know that web designers make 80K starting salary? web masters make even more than that for a starting salary."

"Wow, really? - pause - Do you think I should take a class?"

Note: *Both of us are grinning by this point, just because that's what we do. Like idiots.*

C; "Yes you should, you could do this on the side."

"Y~eah~?..."

I wasn't feeling too sure about it yet.

Anyway, here's my C's entry with me on Keyboard~ Chris was actually still playing one of his Vietnam war games where these annoying Vietnamese male and female voices with strong accents try to brainwash & undermine you while you shoot at them, but I'll let Chris write about that some other time.

Yeah, we(the baby & daddy) did a little video game(daddy's PC game - to be more accurate) today & danced and giggled with Oobi & Grover - which I think he giggled more than I expected. Like I say 'The kids always good for a laugh and a half'.

C was sounding rather dotty, not being able to concentrate on what he was saying.

"What else do you want to say? This doesn't have to be just about the baby you know."

C; "Ummm sweetpea? I don't, I can't ummm. I can't write like this just now."

Probably because he was getting shot at. The end.

May 27, 2004

First Birthday

I can't believe Cheeto's one year old already. I thought the infant stage would last forever.

On his birthday 5/16/04, we dressed him in Hanbok & let him pick an object off the birthday table. He picked the pencil - & depending on what people believe, this can mean intelligence, writer or someone who is destined to study. Then as mommy was regretting the $20 bill going to waste on the table in more ways than one, my little baby buddy picked up his money.

"YEAH baby~~" said mommy. He made $200 cash on his birthday already. :P

Like Chris would say,

"You're so GREEEEEEEdy"

May 26, 2004

Baby Guilt

Put baby in bed... Check

Got myself a Tsingtao... Check

Understand what 'mommy brain' means... Check

Chris is trying to get the baby to go down now, seems like it's hard for Oori to get used to home after being away for 6 weeks. Oori is definitely having the dreaded separation anxiety... it's unbearable to witness your baby panic as you leave the room. For now, I am trying not to make the same mistake as almost all parents do/did, i.e.; treating your baby with no respect, either because 'you're just like that' (roll eyes) or because you think 'babies don't know anything'..

In which case, you may as well wear a big sign that says 'I'm totally clueless'

What if my baby grows up & asks,

"Mom, why didn't you come to comfort me that time I cried for you when I was a 12 month old?"

That will be the worst thing I will ever feel.

newest



NOTES

PICS

WORK

L O V E

L V

E LUXURY

KITTY

S B S

FERRETTI

THE RUG

EditionsLimited

Getty Images

Styledrops