E-MAIL

NEWEST

OLDER ENTRIES

D I A R Y L A N D

July 25, 2004

Das Auto

Presently my Honda CRV 2000 lease -taken over from my sister 2 years ago -is about to expire. To our excitement & joy with the thought of getting rid of this 'horrible' automobile, the lenders are not only trying to sell the car to us for close to 20K, they are sticking us with $250 drop off fee when we drop it off at an auction site.

An auction site????!!!??? Isn't that a place car rental companies purchase their cars from? Isn't that like a police auction except it's with cars that are legal? My poor used Honda CRV 2000 special edition will end up on someone's hands and be abused. It's a good thing cars don't have feelings becuase I feel sad thinking about it being driven by new owners who might treat it like hell. :( :( :( Or maybe that strawberry daiquiri has found it's own voice this evening.

Poor Honda CRV 2000 which, through it's rear view mirror you cannot see a damn thing. Oh I thank my little car for enduring my rough usage and for rescuing me during the horrible snowy Massachusetts winters. I thank 'him' for getting us out of the sloppy driveway in Burlington and for moving our little left over boxes to Arlington to our new home. I thank 'him' for getting me to Beth Israel Hospital for my induction & for bringing back our first baby home. I thank 'him' for being William's first little car rides and my first mommy car. Memories are such strange things, we miss our pasts so much that sometimes we hold onto objects and miss those, too.

Anyway, I think that was enough 'write down your feelings and let it go'. Thank goodness I won't need a shrink for this chapter with missing my car.

**Where the heck is my husband? He's supposed to come upstairs and make me an alcoholic beverage.**

Obviously we will need another car & we have been test driving various vehicles lately. My absolute favorite has always been the X5 but my husband has been forcing me on to all kinds of cars therefore making me irritated and making my inability to make decisions I don't want to make ever more difficult. I don't want all these choices, I've never wanted these choices. I suppose this is why in my grade school multiple tests I would write "there's no answer below" in the answer slots.

I say he just gets me an X5 and be done with it.

He has made me test drive a Toyota Friggin 4 Runner. Not only that, he calls it a 'Truck' and totally turned my stomach upside down.

We talked about Volvo 4x4 which apparently has bad build quality. Now Volvo is just a distant memory with frequent jokes attached to it. "My wife's Volvo is full of sand." is one.

I test drove a Cayenne for the heck of it and found it to be incredible but too 'old' and too much like the VW.

Then came the idiotic Infinity 4x4 which costs 55K for NO REASON. I hated it.

I am still going to look at Sequoia because if I'm going to be stuck with a Toyota, I want more room to play with at least.

Of course I have also test driven the X5. I don't want to talk about it too much I drove it, I loved it.

I don't know what Chris will end up getting and I leave it completely up to him.

I'm going to go see how his M3 is coming along in the garage.

CHI!

previous - newest



NOTES

PICS

WORK

L O V E

L V

E LUXURY

KITTY

S B S

FERRETTI

THE RUG

EditionsLimited

Getty Images

Styledrops