E-MAIL

NEWEST

OLDER ENTRIES

D I A R Y L A N D

August 03, 2004

I like J.Lo

Recently one of the moms in my baby playgroup commented somewhat uncertain-sounding-ly that I looked just like Lucy Liu. I went �Eh????� Then thought; Did she mean I look like her because I am Asian? �Coz I sure don't have any resemblance with the actress at all. Did she mean my hair looks like hers? Did she mean my eyes? Is my nose really that doll-like-unusual triangle?

Whatever it is, I sure am getting a rise out of it, maybe this means I can be the next action star because apparently some folks just can�t tell one Asian apart from another dingdong. I think she has yet to discover we look different from one another just like white folks look different.

Did I really say that?

To her comment, my husband made a face (probably from Far Side) in disbelief. Of course his additional 'look' made me even more confused as to how I should be taking in the whole situation; Especially since he told me to turn to him for some effin reason. This entire time, her husband, (whose looks resemble Paul Arnold even though he won't admit it & has abandoned the friendship with the person who said it) was zigzagging around with BBQ plates in the backgroud.

My husband likes all of your favorite blonde actresses. Then there�s his Asian posse. Lucy Liu, Shu Qi (ewwww) and apparently sometimes, Zhang Ziyi. I guessed Michelle Yeoh is lacking a certain something and Bai Ling is ummm�. heinous with her clown outfits. He complains that there aren�t enough Asian actresses; I suppose that�s Hollywood for you. I do admit the change is refreshing when it happens with occasional exceptions such as Lucy with her nasal voice ruining a scene in Kill Bill 1. �That�s an impressive instrument you have.� I thought I was watching Shrek for a few seconds.

My husband also used to like Kelly Hu until he saw her on an interview swearing like a sailor & now she is listed with J.Lo & Britney Spears.

I still like J.Lo & my husband's just cocky because he married me. Lucy Liu!

Sienna

previous - newest



NOTES

PICS

WORK

L O V E

L V

E LUXURY

KITTY

S B S

FERRETTI

THE RUG

EditionsLimited

Getty Images

Styledrops