E-MAIL

NEWEST

OLDER ENTRIES

D I A R Y L A N D

October 22, 2004

CooKa

It is the most helpless feeling when your baby refuses to take an hour nap during the day. The importance of that one hour nap is that it is vital to every mom�s well being and gives a mom the sense of freedom during the day. Think of it as a spa facial as a single woman. Today I held my bunnymuffin all wrapped in his super soft blankie and prayed he would go down without a fight. In the end, I had to let him complain, scream and cry himself to sleep. The house is calm again.

This is at first an incomprihensive method developed by a sleep expert Dr. Ferber. In short, Ferber suggests letting your children �cry it out�. This method doesn�t always work especially if your baby is too young or if the baby is crying inconsolably. Crying is the only way for a baby to communicate with a caregiver and once a parent can tell the difference in baby noises, 'Ferberizing' will work like a miracle.

It is especially good to have my free hour today since, yesterday afternoon I happen to twist my ankle in my brand spanking new beautiful pair of ankle boots* which, one of the dads in my mom�s group called �weapons� and jinxed me to fold my ankle in half. Ugh!

* I have always promised myself I would never look like an ajumma (married and probably unkept house person) therefore I try to keep myself looking as good and up to date as possible. So okay, that post pregnancy stretched belly skin will need a couple pairs of Spanx. The hair, makeup and nails can be helped and the need for fashion will lead you to browse hip and young sites such as shopbop, shoplastyle, eluxury, shopintuition then off you go to make visits to local hipster-doofus stores on Newbury street.

So I fell, BOY DID THAT HURT�. I was sure I had broken my ankle and sat on the driveway suppressing the pain by chanting �It doesn�t hurt, It doesn�t hurt, It won�t hurt more than this, It won�t�� When, I noticed my 5 grocery bags, shopping bags and a baby wandering around too close to the road. I somehow took my boots off, threw them into the trunk of the car then proceeded to grab bags and baby for multiple trips up and down the stairs with possible broken ankle pains. Once in the house, I let the pain hit me and dialed husband who reciprocated with one typical husband sentence �Okay, coming home now.� I felt bad since apparently he was in the midst of screaming at some of his co-workers. C.�s work ethic, style and personality can be summed up in two words. �Roman Army�, he is one scary manager.

Soon we made a trip to an emergency room where I found several ankle injuries and few bleeding senior citizens. I was turned down at X-ray for possibility of pregnancy. Just as well, the ER doctor ruled I had merely twisted my ankle very badly while retwisting my foot and almost making me wet my pantyO'se. I crutched myself out of that room with an ankle support thingy and a white plastic bag with some ice pack pathetically dangling on my arm. The doctor and a nurse bid good-bye by screaming �GOOD LUCK WITH GETTING PREGNANT!� and �Uh Huh, That (Crutches) looks good!�. I continued to make my exit of shame past the reception desk with my eyes rolling far far back into the sockets. Apparently the receptionists thought it was hilarious.

I am involuntarily stuck at home with a 28lb baby. Maybe I will make Chicken Parmesan while I am at it. Dammit.... On flip side, it is good to have my hour of freedom. It is good to have a baby who laughs hysterically as I crutch and hop all around the house.


Monkey for Halloween.

previous - newest




NOTES

PICS

WORK

L O V E

L V

E LUXURY

KITTY

S B S

FERRETTI

THE RUG

EditionsLimited

Getty Images

Styledrops