E-MAIL

NEWEST

OLDER ENTRIES

D I A R Y L A N D

December 22, 2004

Holiday drama prevention/expectation list

Husband has gotten me what looks like an E Luxury delivery for Christmas. In turn, I have secretly placed an order on NewEgg for new computer parts for C. A Motherboard and a processor shipped rush order overnight fed ex! Since C.'s off work tomorrow it will be a nice surprise and we'll be able to open our presents together perhaps before everyone gets here.

We have received a box of amazing oranges from Grampa R. and a big wheel of Cheddar cheese from Great Grampa in Florida. Who would've thunk it? Food makes such good presents & we are loving it all. I am sure dad will be bringing all sorts of meats and Kimchee for the holiday.

Tomorrow we will be joined by my sister, her husband, my parents and two dogs Austin (a terrier mix) n Pinky (apple head Chihuahua). On Christmas day C's two half sisters and his mom will make their drama filled appearances as well. Apparently they have casually informed C one of them will bring along a boyfriend. I have no idea why they cannot ask me if it's okay to bring someone, especially since they were all on the phone with me. Would I say no? No, I don't think so. I find that plain rude and very annoying. Not uncommon around here.

As the red rises I have to make a prevention list once and for all. Let it all out before Christmas. Granted every family does things very differently from one another, much seem Extra-Terrestrial extraordinary. I do find myself distancing more with no desire to connect or communicate. It seems impossible to communicate on a similar level.

Maybe if I make the list in lighter hue, it won't make me feel so badly.

1. Always reek of smoke due to chain smoking: Including on her visit a day after my son's delivery at the hospital. She held my brand new born son smelling like an ashtray
2. Always late: Including my wedding, almost 45 minutes late costing a small fortune then causing further drama by yelling at my wedding planner, staff and the photographer. Speaking of wedding, also insisting that some of the kids get invited to an all adult event then them not showing up costing additional fortune.
3. Never apologize & be oblivious to consequences: "It wasn't my fault"
4. Offends friends: "Oh you're pregnant? Oh, THAT's why you look like that."
5. Give tasteless & almost deliberately bad gifts to me & my family. They reek of smoke, while I was pregnant, I received as a christmas present a grandmother's shopping bag in leopard print with wheels.
6. Being devious: Always going through C to convey something that affects me as well
7. Calls every weekend: Also giving birthday reminders and never remembering mine, I have yet to get a card from any of them. Not that I am expecting it.
8. Crys on the phone: Has to be the center of attention no matter what, where and when.
9. Intrusion: Goes over cell phone minutes since we are paying for it for the rest of her life
10. Intrusion 2: Holding onto our credit card for 'emergencies' and using it

I just don't know what to do. If I sit and let it slide, it will always continue not to mention I will explode with frustration. What is that one right thing to do? For the holiday spirit and for my amazing husband, come on Leemp, let's be a champ. Yikes.... Now, I hope we have a surprisingly pleasant Christmas holiday this year.

previous - newest



NOTES

PICS

WORK

L O V E

L V

E LUXURY

KITTY

S B S

FERRETTI

THE RUG

EditionsLimited

Getty Images

Styledrops